Perth Blitz crowned inaugural Gridiron West Women?s champions

by Jeremy Truong


PERTH Blitz have been crowned inaugural winners of the Gridiron West Women?s League.

Played in front of a packed grandstand at Dorrien Gardens on Saturday, the Blitz defeated Perth Broncos 28-0 in Westbowl I.

The Honourable Liza Harvey was on hand to award the championship to the Blitz who finished their season undefeated with a record of 10-0.

Blitz managed four touchdowns and two two-point conversions against the Broncos.

The offence were able to break open the game in the second half while the defence kept the Broncos scoreless.

Even a knee injury could not keep defensive star Rhyanna Edbrooke out of the game, who amassed five tackles and one sack.

Similar to the junior?s championship game, Blitz?s offence was kept at bay by the opposition and took til the dying seconds of the first half to open the scoring.

Quarterback Lou Devine-Egan weaved her way through the Broncos defence for a 38 yard run to score with less than 90 seconds remaining.

Women Westbowl MVP Lou Devine-Egan

The two-point conversion was successful to receiver Tegan Brown to have the Blitz leading 8-0 at the main break.

After half-time, Blitz resumed where they left off with a touchdown in the opening drive to Brown.

Running back Janelle Callisto lined up at slot for the two-point conversion and successfully caught the pass to make the score 16-0.

While Broncos? defence throughout the season has been solid and well marshalled by Kellie Hopkins, the defence was left to do too much on the day.

Even the usually evasive and speedy Broncos running back Jess Smith was unable to find space throughout the game.

Touchdowns in the final quarter to Devine-Egan and receiver Kirsty Soley rounded out the match 28-0.

Devine-Egan was named the game’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) with her two touchdowns and 127 yards from nine completed passes.

The women now turn their attention to state trials with WA Raiders as part of the 2018 Women?s Australian Gridiron League Tournament in May.

The Raiders team will be coached by Blitz?s Kevin Wilson.

Coaches Wilson and David Holmes had much to smile about with the Blitz?s junior team also victorious in Westbowl XIII.

The juniors won 14-6 over Rockingham Vipers.

In the men?s decider, Rockingham Vipers defeated Swan City Titans 54-14.